

MOUNTAIN COMMUNITIES HEALTHCARE DISTRICT

MEETING MINUTES **BOARD MEETING**

January 8, 2025

Trinity Community Health Clinic Weaverville CA

DISTRICT BOARD MEMBERS

JENNIFER FLINT

PAUL CATANESE

DERO FORSLUND PAUL HAUSER

SHEREE BEANS

Member Vice President

President

Treasurer

Clerk

Note: These minutes contain a description for each item to be considered. Supporting documentation is available in the public packet at the Board meeting or at the Administrative Office at Trinity Hospital.

District Board Members Present:

Dero Forslund, President Paul Hauser, Treasurer Jennifer Ryan Flint

District Board Members Absent:

Paul Catanese, Vice President Sheree Beans, Clerk

Staff Present:

Aaron Rogers, CEO Jennifer Van Matre, CFO Elizabeth McGruder, CHRO Belen Manybanseng, CNO Sharayne Loomis, DON Scott Simpson, Quality Coordinator Kevin Livengood, Director of Pharmacy Vicky Williams, Director of Ancillary Services Rebecca Glandon, Executive Assistant

8:30 AM CALLS MEETING TO ORDER IN OPEN SESSION

Report from Closed Session on December 4, 2024

Closed Session December 4, 2024

The Board entered into closed session at 09:35 am on the following:

- CONFERENCE WITH LEGAL COUNSEL ANTICIPATED LITIGATION Government Code Section 54956.9 (d) (2)
- MEDICAL STAFF PRIVILEGES Government Code Section 54962; Health and Safety Code Section 1461

Appointments Zachary Plotz, MD

> Reappointments Walter Fletscher, MD Orna Gil, MD

Adjourn Closed Session and Reconvene in Public Session

The Board came out of Closed Session at 10:14 am and immediately reconvened in Open Session.

President Forslund reported that information was reviewed regarding anticipated litigation and the Board of Directors provided Aaron Rogers, CEO with direction.

President Forslund reported that the Board reviewed the recommended actions on Medical Staff Privileges. For each applicant the following information has been reviewed and/or verified:

Privilege List, NPDB Report, and AMA Profile, peer references and verifications of staff privileges at other facility and ongoing professional practice evaluations. Items verified were Liability Insurance Coverage, Licenses, Certifications, and the Medicare exclusion list was checked.

On a motion of Director Hauser seconded by Director Ryan Flint approves the following appointments /reappointments / additional privileges/resignations to/from the Medical Staff.

Appointments
Zachary Plotz, MD

Reappointments
Walter Fletscher, MD
Orna Gil, MD

The motion passed with the following roll call vote:

Ayes: Dero Forslund; Paul Catanese; Paul Hauser; Sheree Beans; Jennifer Ryan Flint

Noes: None Absent: None Abstain: None

Public Input – None

Reports

Medical Staff Report

No Report due to the Medical Executive Meeting not being held in December.

Chief Executive Officer

Received written/verbal report from Aaron Rogers, CEO on the current operations of the hospital.

Chief Financial Officer

Received written/verbal report from Jennifer Van Matre, Chief Financial Officer, on the current financial status and current status of revenue cycle management and accounts receivable.

Chief Nursing Officer

Received written report from Belen Manybanseng, RN, CNO on the current status of the nursing departments. Additional item discussed:

Belen Manybanseng introduced Sharayne Loomis, the new DON for the Skilled Nursing facility.

Quality Improvement

Received written/verbal report from Scott Simpson, Quality Coordinator, on the current status of the quality program.

Information Technology

Received written/verbal report from Jake Odom, Chief Information Officer on the current status of the Information Technology Department.

Consent Agenda

All matters listed under the Consent Agenda, are considered by the Board to be routine, and will be enacted by one motion in the form listed below. There will be no separate discussion of these items unless a request for discussion is made prior to the time the Board votes on the motion to approve.

On motion of Director Hauser seconded by Director Jennifer Ryan Flint approves the following consent items:

- a. Minutes From December 4, 2024
- b. Policies

The motion passed with the following voice vote:

Aves:

Dero Forslund; Paul Hauser; Jennifer Ryan Flint

Noes:

None

Absent:

Paul Catanese; Sheree Beans

Abstain:

None

Discussion Items

a. Update on Pending Capital Projects

Aaron Rogers reported on the following:

Seismic/Boiler- Currently nothing is completed, but the new maintenance crew has this as a top priority.

Radiology Project- Aaron reported that the project is creeping along, and currently waiting for HCAI to approve how we fill in the hole that they required us to dig.

b. Hospital Build

Aaron Rogers reported that we have no updates at this time. Director Hauser is still hopeful that we can get a meeting with Congressman Huffman to discuss the project.

Action Items

a. Items removed from the Consent Agenda
None

b. Approve Physical Therapy Flooring Project.

On a motion of Director Hauser seconded by Director Ryan Flint approves the Physical Therapy Flooring Project and awards the project to Ricardo Jimenez Maintenance with a bid of \$30,000.00.

The motion passed with the following roll call vote:

Aves:

Dero Forslund; Paul Hauser; Jennifer Ryan Flint

Noes:

None

Absent:

Paul Catanese; Sheree Beans

Abstain:

None

c. Approve Hayfork Clinic Asphalt Project

On a motion of Director Hauser seconded by Director Ryan Flint approves the Hayfork Asphalt Clinic Project and awards the project to Eagle Paving and Grading with a bid of \$29,747.00.

The motion passed with the following roll call vote:

Ayes:

Dero Forslund; Paul Hauser; Jennifer Ryan Flint

Noes:

None

Absent:

Paul Catanese; Sheree Beans

Abstain:

None

d. Election of Officers

On a motion of Director Hauser seconded by Director Ryan Flint the following members are nominated and approved as the officers of the MCHD Board of Directors 2025:

President: Dero Forslund Vice President: Paul Catanese

Treasurer: Paul Hauser Clerk: Sheree Beans

The motion passed with the following roll call vote:

Ayes:

Dero Forslund; Paul Hauser; Jennifer Ryan Flint

Noes:

None

Absent:

Paul Catanese; Sheree Beans

Abstain:

None

Board Reports

President Dero Forslund reported on a generator issue he was informed about at the new jail.

<u>Adjourn</u>

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 09:30 am.

Sheree Beans, Clerk of the Board Mountain Communities Healthcare District